FINAL
Fri. Oct 10
2 IOW
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 11
2 OKC
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Oct 17
3 UTI
0 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 18
5 SAN
4 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Oct 24
2 SAN
5 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Oct 25
4 SAN
2 HAM
FINAL
Sun. Oct 26
5 SAN
2 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Oct 29
6 SAN
7 ADK
Fri. Oct 31
7:30 PM
RFD
SAN
Sat. Nov 01
7:00 PM
RFD
SAN
Fri. Nov 07
7:30 PM
TOR
SAN
Sun. Nov 09
4:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Nov 11
10:35 AM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Nov 14
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Sat. Nov 15
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Nov 18
10:30 AM
OKC
SAN
Fri. Nov 21
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Sun. Nov 23
4:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Nov 29
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Nov 30
4:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Fri. Dec 05
7:30 PM
UTI
SAN
Sun. Dec 07
4:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Tue. Dec 09
7:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Thu. Dec 11
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 12
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 19
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Sun. Dec 21
1:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Fri. Dec 26
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Dec 27
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Dec 28
5:00 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Jan 01
3:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Fri. Jan 02
7:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Sat. Jan 03
3:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Tue. Jan 06
7:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Wed. Jan 07
7:05 PM
SAN
ROC
Sat. Jan 10
7:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Sun. Jan 11
4:00 PM
TOR
SAN
Sat. Jan 17
7:00 PM
ROC
SAN
Tue. Jan 20
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Thu. Jan 22
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Sat. Jan 24
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Thu. Jan 29
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Jan 30
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Feb 03
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Feb 05
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Feb 07
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Feb 10
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Feb 13
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sat. Feb 14
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sun. Feb 15
4:00 PM
SAN
RFD
Wed. Feb 18
10:30 AM
SAN
RFD
Sat. Feb 21
7:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Sun. Feb 22
3:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Fri. Feb 27
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Feb 28
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Wed. Mar 04
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Thu. Mar 05
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Wed. Mar 11
7:00 PM
MIL
SAN
Fri. Mar 13
7:30 PM
LEM
SAN
Sat. Mar 14
7:00 PM
LEM
SAN
Tue. Mar 17
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Fri. Mar 20
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Mar 21
7:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Sun. Mar 22
4:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Wed. Mar 25
7:00 PM
SAN
MIL
Fri. Mar 27
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Mar 28
12:30 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Apr 04
7:00 PM
ADK
SAN
Tue. Apr 07
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Apr 10
7:30 PM
GRA
SAN
Tue. Apr 14
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Fri. Apr 17
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Apr 18
7:00 PM
SAN
TEX

Views From the Press Box with Dan Weiss

08/05/2013 10:38 AM -

Join Voice of the Rampage Dan Weiss as he offers his unique insight to all things hockey in his weekly blog! Have a question or comment for Dan? Be sure to join the discussion of the San Antonio Rampage Facebook page  to interact with other hockey fans! You may also submit your questions though Twitter by tagging @sarampage and using the hashtag #RampageVoice. Don't forget to follow us on Twitter by clicking here!

The August dog days are here! Traditionally known as the slowest month in the 365 day season that hockey has become, August has once again exceeded expectations with its dearth of any relative breaking news.  Of course the fact that it comes accompanied with the hottest temperatures of the year in South Texas doesn’t make it any easier on the local hockey fan, but I’m here to tell you that hope is right around the corner.  Sunday night marked the beginning of the NFL calendar, which I’ve often found is the unofficial beginning of the hockey pre-season.  Activity starts to pick up around the office.  The AHL releases its schedule.  Coaches and staff head off to South Florida in preparation for rookie camp and then full training camp.  And once the calendar flips to September, news will be coming in waves leading right up until Opening Night at the AT&T Center.  So be patient Rampage nation!  We’re less than seven weeks from hockey returning to the friendly confines with the NHL tilt between the Panthers and Stars and roughly two months to the date of the 2013-14 season kicking off … 

…Speaking of the schedule, the NBA and the Spurs will release their schedule Tuesday, which will give clearance to the AHL to go ahead and release their schedule shortly thereafter.  Because four AHL teams including the Rampage share a building with an NBA tenant (Charlotte, Lake Erie, & Milwaukee are the others), the league must wait to see what dates are available after the NBA finalizes their calendar.  Schedule making is no easy science and the folks at the league office do an incredible job in turning out the final product as quickly as they do once the NBA schedule is out.  AHL Vice President of Communications Jason Chaimovitch mentioned Friday on Twitter that the schedule should be released sometime in the next two to three weeks.  When it does come out, expect the Rampage to see an uptick in both their frequent flier miles and hotel points.  Houston’s relocation to Des Moines, Iowa eliminates 12 games and six single day bus trips that often separated long stretches of games away from the AT&T Center.  The Rampage also had four games last season with the Peoria Rivermen who have since relocated to Utica, N.Y., this summer, meaning San Antonio must replace 16 games.  It is unlikely the AHL will add any more games to the 12 the Silver & Black already have against Texas and Oklahoma City, so expect the remaining 16 to be split up with additional games against both the Midwest and perhaps even the North divisions, and likely four more games against new division foe Abbotsford…

…Team depth charts are filling out in coaches offices in both San Antonio and Sunrise and with the exception of maybe adding a left-winger, the Rampage seem to be pretty set with the group that they have.  Florida re-signed restricted free agents Michael Caruso, Colby Robak, and Jacob Markstrom, the latter two who most likely will be given every opportunity to start the year in the NHL.  Caruso meanwhile will enter his sixth season in the organization, and should replace a majority of the top four minutes vacated by the departed Nolan Yonkman.  Florida also re-signed unrestricted free agent Greg Rallo who will begin his eighth professional season this October with 203 career points in 387 AHL games.  Now in his third season with the Rampage, Rallo should receive top consideration for the team captaincy.  Also re-signed to AHL deals were forwards Jared Gomes and Jed Ortmeyer, and defensemen Zach Miskovic and John Lee.  All four are smart “low risk, high reward” signings in my opinion.  Gomes finished third on the Rampage and 27th among rookies in scoring with 16 goals and 33 points in his freshman campaign, exceeding the production of some other highly touted undrafted rookie free agents like Portland’s Brendan Shinnimin (2012 WHL Player of the Year) and Toronto’s Spencer Abbott (2012 NCAA scoring champion).  He’s also a tremendously versatile player that can fill just about any spot on the second through fourth lines, and can contribute on both the power play and penalty kill.  What I liked the most about Gomes’ development last season was that he had to work for every opportunity he was given, from making the opening night roster to getting into the line-up for the first time.  Miskovic was acquired in the middle of the Rodeo Road Trip and collected 13 points and a team-best plus-8 rating in the final 26 games of the season.  He’s a steady AHL defenseman who now has four years of service in the league, and is a consistent offensive contributor who provides excellent value for the role that he fills.  Ortmeyer brings back leadership and stability in both a top-six and bottom-six role, and the veteran can usually be counted on for 10-15 goals and 30-40 points a year.  Like Miskovic, he joined the club during the Rodeo Road Trip and produced at nearly a half a point per game clip with six goals and 15 points over the final 32 games of the regular season.  Lee will begin his second professional season in October, and should return to San Antonio with plenty of confidence in his game after logging a ton of quality minutes during the final month of last year.  As far as left wing help goes, some names to keep an eye on are Philippe Cornet, Andreas Nodl, Jason Gregoire, and Barry Almeida.  All four have had some past success in the league, and could likely be had for the price of an AHL contract…

…Keep your eyes on SARampage.com for the release of the AHL schedule.  In the meantime, hit up a public skate and stay cool! 

Views from the Press Box Archive:
July 8, 2013
June 22, 2013

 



HEB