FINAL
Fri. Oct 10
2 IOW
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 11
2 OKC
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Oct 17
3 UTI
0 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 18
5 SAN
4 OKC
Fri. Oct 24
6:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Sat. Oct 25
6:00 PM
SAN
HAM
Sun. Oct 26
2:00 PM
SAN
HAM
Wed. Oct 29
6:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Fri. Oct 31
7:30 PM
RFD
SAN
Sat. Nov 01
7:00 PM
RFD
SAN
Fri. Nov 07
7:30 PM
TOR
SAN
Sun. Nov 09
4:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Nov 11
10:35 AM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Nov 14
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Sat. Nov 15
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Nov 18
10:30 AM
OKC
SAN
Fri. Nov 21
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Sun. Nov 23
4:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Nov 29
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Nov 30
4:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Fri. Dec 05
7:30 PM
UTI
SAN
Sun. Dec 07
4:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Tue. Dec 09
7:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Thu. Dec 11
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 12
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 19
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Sun. Dec 21
1:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Fri. Dec 26
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Dec 27
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Dec 28
5:00 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Jan 01
3:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Fri. Jan 02
7:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Sat. Jan 03
3:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Tue. Jan 06
7:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Wed. Jan 07
7:05 PM
SAN
ROC
Sat. Jan 10
7:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Sun. Jan 11
4:00 PM
TOR
SAN
Sat. Jan 17
7:00 PM
ROC
SAN
Tue. Jan 20
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Thu. Jan 22
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Sat. Jan 24
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Thu. Jan 29
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Jan 30
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Feb 03
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Feb 05
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Feb 07
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Feb 10
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Feb 13
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sat. Feb 14
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sun. Feb 15
4:00 PM
SAN
RFD
Wed. Feb 18
10:30 AM
SAN
RFD
Sat. Feb 21
7:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Sun. Feb 22
3:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Fri. Feb 27
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Feb 28
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Wed. Mar 04
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Thu. Mar 05
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Wed. Mar 11
7:00 PM
MIL
SAN
Fri. Mar 13
7:30 PM
LEM
SAN
Sat. Mar 14
7:00 PM
LEM
SAN
Tue. Mar 17
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Fri. Mar 20
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Mar 21
7:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Sun. Mar 22
4:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Wed. Mar 25
7:00 PM
SAN
MIL
Fri. Mar 27
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Mar 28
12:30 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Apr 04
7:00 PM
ADK
SAN
Tue. Apr 07
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Apr 10
7:30 PM
GRA
SAN
Tue. Apr 14
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Fri. Apr 17
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Apr 18
7:00 PM
SAN
TEX

Fresh Faces: Tony Turgeon

09/24/2013 4:10 PM -

By: Kinsey Janke

Switching from wing to wing, or even wing to center, is commonplace between hockey forwards. Though there are distinct differences in the three positions, most players can rotate from spot to spot with ease. Making the leap from defense to forward, however, is something that doesn’t come quite as easy.

The 2013-14 AHL season is where defenseman-turned-forward Tony Turgeon is going to get his first taste of flying down the wing with the San Antonio Rampage. A physical presence on the ice, the 24-year-old North Dakota native racked up 169 penalty minutes in three seasons at the University of Nebraska-Omaha. Turgeon was signed to an entry-level contract by the Florida Panthers this summer and is participating in training camp with the Rampage.

Though the switch from defense to offense doesn’t happen as often, Turgeon is not alone. Wendel Clark, former captain of the Toronto Maple Leafs, made the switch from the blue line to the red with much success. A defenseman in juniors, Clark was immediately moved to wing upon his NHL arrival and went on to accumulate 564 points in 793 NHL games played.

At the end of the second day of the Rampage’s training camp, Turgeon gave a short glimpse into his arrival in Texas and what he expects for the upcoming season.

San Antonio Rampage: How do you like Texas so far?
Tony Turgeon: I like it. I’m from North Dakota, so the weather is a little bit nicer down here, so that’s nice.

SAR: You decided to forgo your final year at the University of Nebraska-Omaha to go pro, what prompted that decision?
TT: It just came down to me and my family deciding what the best decision for me was and we thought going early would maybe help me in the long run. Hopefully it works out.

SAR: What did you do to prepare for the jump from college hockey to pro hockey?
TT: I just kind of stuck to the same routine and tried to train hard all summer and come to camp ready to go.

SAR: This year has you changing positions from defense to wing, how do you feel about that change?
TT: You know, it will be a learning process but the older guys have been helping me out. They’ve been real open to questions, and the coaching staff has been helping me too. They’re making it a lot easier than I thought it would be. It’s going well.

SAR: Who was your favorite player growing up?
TT: Well, I was a defenseman so my favorite player was Chris Pronger. But now I guess I’ll have to start watching for a new favorite guy, see if I can find a forward.

Fresh Faces Archive:
Michael Houser
 



Red