FINAL
Sun. Dec 15
5 TEX
2 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Dec 18
2 SAN
4 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Dec 20
0 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sat. Dec 21
2 SAN
3 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Dec 27
2 TEX
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Dec 28
2 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 03
5 OKC
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 04
3 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Tue. Jan 07
1 ABB
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 11
3 ABB
2 SAN
FINAL
Mon. Jan 13
2 UTI
3 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Jan 16
4 MIL
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 18
3 ROC
2 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Jan 24
5 IOW
4 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 25
2 IOW
1 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Jan 26
5 GRA
6 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Jan 29
4 SAN
2 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 31
4 TOR
3 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Feb 05
4 SAN
5 TOR
FINAL
Fri. Feb 07
4 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Sat. Feb 08
3 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 14
2 SAN
1 GRA
FINAL
Sat. Feb 15
3 SAN
0 GRA
FINAL
Mon. Feb 17
4 SAN
1 HAM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 21
3 SAN
2 ROC
FINAL
Sat. Feb 22
1 SAN
2 TOR
FINAL
Sun. Feb 23
1 SAN
3 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Feb 26
3 SAN
0 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Mar 01
2 TEX
0 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 02
5 SAN
6 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Mar 07
5 CHA
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 09
4 CHA
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Mar 11
2 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 13
1 GRA
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Mar 15
2 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sun. Mar 16
1 SAN
2 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Mar 21
3 SAN
4 CHA
FINAL
Sun. Mar 23
4 SAN
2 CHA
FINAL
Tue. Mar 25
1 SAN
2 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 27
4 TEX
5 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Mar 28
6 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 30
4 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Apr 01
5 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 04
2 CHA
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Apr 05
0 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 11
0 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Sat. Apr 12
8 TEX
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Apr 13
0 TEX
1 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Apr 17
3 ABB
1 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 18
3 ABB
0 SAN

Rampage Defeated in Shootout at OKC, 3-2

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations
12/28/2012 9:37 PM -

Box Score | Game Notes

OKLAHOMA CITY (December 28, 2012) -- The San Antonio Rampage (11-17-0-4) pushed the Oklahoma City Barons (16-10-1-3) to a shootout but could only secure one point in the standings as they fell, 3-2, in a shootout Friday night in Oklahoma City.

Rampage goaltender Jacob Markstrom made a season-high 42 saves but couldn’t come out on top in the shootout, allowing two goals off four shooters.  Markstrom made several outstanding saves on the night, including several stops when the AHL’s best power-play unit had a 5-on-3 man advantage late in the third period.

Markstrom established himself early in the game and stopped all 14 shots the Barons threw on the net in the first period. The Rampage were unable to solve Barons netminder Olivier Roy and the two teams went into the first intermission scoreless.

Markstrom faced Taylor Hall, who is tied atop the AHL scoring charts, on a two-on-one early in the second period. Hall fired his shot low, but Markstrom stretched out to deny him with his left pad. The save put momentum on San Antonio’s side and the visitors cashed in first shortly thereafter.

Rampage forward Casey Wellman broke into the Oklahoma City zone with Drew Shore, and after a quick exchange of passes Wellman fired it past Barons goaltender Oliver Roy at 1:44 of the second period.

Jared Gomes extended San Antonio’s lead to 2-0 at 9:22 of the second period when he joined Jonathan Hazen on a rush up the ice. Roy stopped Hazen’s shot, but could not stop Gomes, who buried the rebound to make it 2-0 San Antonio.

Oklahoma City managed to catch Markstrom off guard with a last second goal on the power play. Markstrom made the initial saves, but the rebound found its way to Teemu Hartikainen in the confusion and he snuck it past the Rampage netminder. The goal went to review to assure that time had not run out in the second period and after a short conference it was determined to be a good goal. 

The Barons took that momentum into the third period and tied the game at 4:53 of the frame. Hall powered to the net and tucked the puck between his skates before sliding it to the crease where Mark Arcobello slipped it past Markstrom to make it, 2-2.

The score remained tied through most of the third period but a set of penalties in the final two minutes of the frame set the table for a heroic effort by the Rampage penalty killers to close out the game. With the Barons bearing down on them, San Antonio killed off the penalties to earn at least a point in the standings.

In overtime San Antonio failed to convert on a power play of their own, sending the game to a shootout. James Wright scored for the Silver & Black but Magnus Paajarvi and Eberle managed to beat Markstrom to win it for the Barons.

San Antonio held the AHL’s best power play to 1-for-6 on the night while the Rampage ended the game 0-for-5. The Barons won the shot battle, 45-34, on the night and snapped San Antonio’s three-game streak of outshooting their opponents.

San Antonio has dropped their first four games of the season against the Barons at Cox Convention Center (0-3-0-1) and are yet to secure a victory against a divisional foe (0-6-0-1) away from AT&T Center.

The Rampage will now return to the AT&T Center for their final two home games of the calendar year starting with a 7:30 p.m. faceoff with the Houston Aeros on Saturday for a KZEP Dollar Drink Night. The Herd will wrap up 2012 with and Express-News Sunday Funday tilt with the division leading Charlotte Checkers at 4:30 p.m. on Sunday.

Individual, and season, tickets start at $10 and can be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office, by calling a Rampage representative at 210-444-5554 or online at sarampage.com



Mac D's



@ sarampage