FINAL
Sun. Dec 15
5 TEX
2 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Dec 18
2 SAN
4 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Dec 20
0 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sat. Dec 21
2 SAN
3 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Dec 27
2 TEX
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Dec 28
2 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 03
5 OKC
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 04
3 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Tue. Jan 07
1 ABB
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 11
3 ABB
2 SAN
FINAL
Mon. Jan 13
2 UTI
3 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Jan 16
4 MIL
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 18
3 ROC
2 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Jan 24
5 IOW
4 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 25
2 IOW
1 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Jan 26
5 GRA
6 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Jan 29
4 SAN
2 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 31
4 TOR
3 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Feb 05
4 SAN
5 TOR
FINAL
Fri. Feb 07
4 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Sat. Feb 08
3 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 14
2 SAN
1 GRA
FINAL
Sat. Feb 15
3 SAN
0 GRA
FINAL
Mon. Feb 17
4 SAN
1 HAM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 21
3 SAN
2 ROC
FINAL
Sat. Feb 22
1 SAN
2 TOR
FINAL
Sun. Feb 23
1 SAN
3 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Feb 26
3 SAN
0 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Mar 01
2 TEX
0 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 02
5 SAN
6 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Mar 07
5 CHA
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 09
4 CHA
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Mar 11
2 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 13
1 GRA
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Mar 15
2 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sun. Mar 16
1 SAN
2 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Mar 21
3 SAN
4 CHA
FINAL
Sun. Mar 23
4 SAN
2 CHA
FINAL
Tue. Mar 25
1 SAN
2 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 27
4 TEX
5 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Mar 28
6 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 30
4 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Apr 01
5 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 04
2 CHA
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Apr 05
0 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 11
0 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Sat. Apr 12
8 TEX
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Apr 13
0 TEX
1 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Apr 17
3 ABB
1 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 18
3 ABB
0 SAN

Rampage Begin Rodeo Road Trip With Win

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations

Box Score | Game Notes

HOUSTON (February 4, 2013) – Four different players recorded their first goals of the season for the Rampage, as San Antonio (20-22-0-4) defeated the Houston Aeros (22-17-4-3), 5-2, on Monday night at the Toyota Center to kick off the team’s nine-game, 21-day Rodeo Road Trip.

Zach Hamill, Brendon Nash, Jed Ortmeyer and Mike Santorelli all lit the lamp for the first time in the Silver and Black. Hamill, Ortmeyer and Santorelli were all playing in their second game for the Rampage. Nash was in his first game back from an injury which kept him out six-straight games.

The victory marked the first back-to-back win for the Rampage since the team’s three-game winning streak from Dec. 29-Jan. 3. The Rampage had alternated wins and losses in their last 11 games.

Netminder Dov Grumet-Morris made 28 saves to earn the victory in his first start since Jan. 12 against Texas.

In a penalty-filled first period, the Rampage held the Aeros to 0-for-4 on the power play, while San Antonio was 1-for-3 with the man advantage. San Antonio’s penalty kill was tested early, as the Rampage found themselves down two men for 42 seconds early in the game. The Rampage held strong and kept all the action away from Grumet-Morris.

It was the Rampage who cashed in on the power play at 7:33 of the opening frame. Hamill, who the Rampage acquired in a trade last week, won an offensive zone faceoff and went to the net. He corralled a rebound and fired it past Matt Hackett to give the Rampage a 1-0 lead. Andre Deveaux and Greg Rallo collected assists on the goal.

The Rampage outshot the Aeros, 17-8, in the opening frame, which was the most shots San Antonio has recorded in one period since recording 21 shots in the first period on Jan. 11 against Lake Erie. In comparison, San Antonio recorded a total of 19 shots on goal in Friday’s 1-0 win over Rockford on Pink in the Rink Night.

Nash extended the Rampage lead to 2-0 at 2:43 of the second period with a blast from the point that made its way through traffic. The goal was Nash’s first of the year for the Rampage in his first game back from an injury which kept him out of the lineup for six games. Hamill picked up his second point of the game with an assist on the goal. Rookie forward Jonathan Hazen also picked up a helper on the goal.

Aeros leading scorer Jason Zucker made it a 2-1 game with a power-play goal at 5:18 of the second period. Zucker leads the Aeros in scoring against the Rampage this season with five goals and five assists in seven games.

Rampage forward Jed Ortmeyer made it 3-1 with a goal against his former team at 1:26 of the third period. Ortmeyer gathered a turnover by Hackett at the bottom of the left faceoff circle and fired the sharp angle shot into the net for his first goal of the season for the Rampage.

Ortmeyer lit the lamp once again at 5:09 to open a three-goal lead. The Rampage rushed up the ice on a 3-on-1 and Ortmeyer crashed the net, deflecting it past Hackett. Initially the goal was waived off, but after the officials reviewed the play, it was deemed a goal.

Houston responded 49 seconds later with a goal of their own to make it 4-2. Grumet-Morris made the first save on the play, but was unable to turn aside the rebound.

Grumet-Morris made a fantastic glove save at the midway point of the third period to keep it a two-score game. Justin Fontaine found himself open in the slot while on the power play, but Grumet-Morris flashed the leather and denied Fontaine on the doorstep. 

Santorelli became the fourth Rampage player in the game to tally his first goal of the season for the Silver and Black when he lit the lamp while shorthanded at 11:46. Santorelli picked up an Aeros turnover at the Rampage blueline and waited out Hackett before tucking the puck behind him.

The Rampage finished the game 1-for-9 on the power play, while Houston was 1-for-8 with the man advantage. The Aeros won the shot battle, 30-28, on the night.

The Rampage will continue their Rodeo Road trip this weekend, when they will travel to Charlotte for a pair of games against the Checkers. Saturday’s puck drop is set for 6:00 p.m., while Sunday’s game will kick off at 2:00 p.m.

The Silver and Black will return to AT&T Center on Saturday, March 2 at 7:00 p.m. to host their annual Military Appreciation Night. Individual and season tickets can be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office, by calling a Rampage representative at 210-444-5554 or online at sarampage.com.



Ward



@ sarampage