FINAL
Fri. Oct 10
2 IOW
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 11
2 OKC
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Oct 17
3 UTI
0 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 18
5 SAN
4 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Oct 24
2 SAN
5 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Oct 25
4 SAN
2 HAM
FINAL
Sun. Oct 26
5 SAN
2 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Oct 29
6 SAN
7 ADK
Fri. Oct 31
7:30 PM
RFD
SAN
Sat. Nov 01
7:00 PM
RFD
SAN
Fri. Nov 07
7:30 PM
TOR
SAN
Sun. Nov 09
4:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Nov 11
10:35 AM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Nov 14
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Sat. Nov 15
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Nov 18
10:30 AM
OKC
SAN
Fri. Nov 21
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Sun. Nov 23
4:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Nov 29
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Nov 30
4:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Fri. Dec 05
7:30 PM
UTI
SAN
Sun. Dec 07
4:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Tue. Dec 09
7:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Thu. Dec 11
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 12
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 19
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Sun. Dec 21
1:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Fri. Dec 26
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Dec 27
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Dec 28
5:00 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Jan 01
3:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Fri. Jan 02
7:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Sat. Jan 03
3:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Tue. Jan 06
7:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Wed. Jan 07
7:05 PM
SAN
ROC
Sat. Jan 10
7:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Sun. Jan 11
4:00 PM
TOR
SAN
Sat. Jan 17
7:00 PM
ROC
SAN
Tue. Jan 20
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Thu. Jan 22
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Sat. Jan 24
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Thu. Jan 29
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Jan 30
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Feb 03
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Feb 05
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Feb 07
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Feb 10
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Feb 13
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sat. Feb 14
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sun. Feb 15
4:00 PM
SAN
RFD
Wed. Feb 18
10:30 AM
SAN
RFD
Sat. Feb 21
7:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Sun. Feb 22
3:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Fri. Feb 27
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Feb 28
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Wed. Mar 04
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Thu. Mar 05
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Wed. Mar 11
7:00 PM
MIL
SAN
Fri. Mar 13
7:30 PM
LEM
SAN
Sat. Mar 14
7:00 PM
LEM
SAN
Tue. Mar 17
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Fri. Mar 20
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Mar 21
7:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Sun. Mar 22
4:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Wed. Mar 25
7:00 PM
SAN
MIL
Fri. Mar 27
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Mar 28
12:30 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Apr 04
7:00 PM
ADK
SAN
Tue. Apr 07
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Apr 10
7:30 PM
GRA
SAN
Tue. Apr 14
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Fri. Apr 17
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Apr 18
7:00 PM
SAN
TEX

Fresh Faces: Michael Houser

By Kinsey Janke

In hockey, the phrase “your goalie is your best penalty killer” is thrown around by commentators with reckless abandon. The position is chock full of expectations, pressure, and players who need to be physically on their game – and mentally as well.

Michael Houser, a 21-year-old born in Ohio but raised in Pittsburgh, is a goalie whose credentials speak for themselves. During the 2012-13 ECHL season with the Cincinnati Cyclones, Houser put up a 2.55 goals against average, and posted a 0.917 save percentage in 29 games.

Prior to his stint in Cincinnati, Houser spent three seasons wearing green and gold for the OHL’s London Knights. At the end of the 2011-12 season, he was awarded OHL Goaltender of the Year and was named to the OHL’s First All-Star Team. In addition, Houser won the Red Tilson Trophy, which recognizes the most outstanding player in the league, becoming the first American-born netminder to receive the honor.

This year’s Red Tilson recipient was Vincent Trocheck, a prospect in the Florida system who played alongside Houser in Friday’s NHL preseason game at the AT&T Center.

That same game earned Houser his first NHL start, backstopping the Florida Panthers as they faced off against the Dallas Stars. In only his second professional season, the Rampage staff doesn’t see him slowing down anytime soon.

“He’s going to continue to work and progress,” said Rampage head coach Peter Horachek. “Playing in an NHL game does not make you ready to make that step. He’s a good kid and he works hard. He’s been a winner before and that attitude is going to take you a long way. He’s working hard at his game.”

After the first practice of this week’s training camp, Houser took a minute to catch up.

San Antonio Rampage: How do you like San Antonio so far?
Michael Houser: It’s nice, it seems like a nice city. I haven’t seen too much of it besides the immediate downtown, but it seems like a nice city.

SAR: How do you feel about the getting the start on Friday to play in your first NHL game?
MH: It was good. It was good to get that experience. It was a great crowd, [and] they packed the house. It was fun to play in my first game here.

SAR: You were in the OHL with the London Knights, then the ECHL with the Cincinnati Cyclones, and now you’re here in San Antonio. What is the difference you see as you go up through the leagues?
MH: I think one thing you notice is it’s just faster. Guys are bigger and stronger, and the game is just a little bit faster. But as you keep going up, people make less mistakes. Sometimes it’s easier, but it’s faster as you get to each level.

SAR: Do you have any pre- or post-game superstitions or rituals?
MH: No, nothing too particular. I just kind of warm up the same way each game, and stuff like that.

SAR: Did you have a favourite player when you were growing up, or someone you model your game after?
MH: I liked watching Marc-Andre Fleury growing up, just because he’s from Pittsburgh.



UPS Store