FINAL
Sun. Dec 15
5 TEX
2 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Dec 18
2 SAN
4 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Dec 20
0 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sat. Dec 21
2 SAN
3 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Dec 27
2 TEX
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Dec 28
2 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 03
5 OKC
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 04
3 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Tue. Jan 07
1 ABB
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 11
3 ABB
2 SAN
FINAL
Mon. Jan 13
2 UTI
3 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Jan 16
4 MIL
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 18
3 ROC
2 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Jan 24
5 IOW
4 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 25
2 IOW
1 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Jan 26
5 GRA
6 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Jan 29
4 SAN
2 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 31
4 TOR
3 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Feb 05
4 SAN
5 TOR
FINAL
Fri. Feb 07
4 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Sat. Feb 08
3 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 14
2 SAN
1 GRA
FINAL
Sat. Feb 15
3 SAN
0 GRA
FINAL
Mon. Feb 17
4 SAN
1 HAM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 21
3 SAN
2 ROC
FINAL
Sat. Feb 22
1 SAN
2 TOR
FINAL
Sun. Feb 23
1 SAN
3 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Feb 26
3 SAN
0 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Mar 01
2 TEX
0 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 02
5 SAN
6 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Mar 07
5 CHA
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 09
4 CHA
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Mar 11
2 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 13
1 GRA
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Mar 15
2 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sun. Mar 16
1 SAN
2 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Mar 21
3 SAN
4 CHA
FINAL
Sun. Mar 23
4 SAN
2 CHA
FINAL
Tue. Mar 25
1 SAN
2 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 27
4 TEX
5 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Mar 28
6 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 30
4 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Apr 01
5 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 04
2 CHA
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Apr 05
0 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 11
0 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Sat. Apr 12
8 TEX
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Apr 13
0 TEX
1 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Apr 17
3 ABB
1 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 18
3 ABB
0 SAN

Rampage Earn Shootout Win Over OKC

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations

Box Score | Game Notes

SAN ANTONIO (November 29, 2013) – Rampage goaltender Jacob Markstrom stopped 34-of-36 shots and all five Barons shooters in the shootout, as San Antonio (10-9-0-1) claimed a 3-2 shootout win over Oklahoma City (8-10-0-3) on Friday in the club’s first-ever “Movember Night” in front of 7,037 fans at AT&T Center.

The Rampage also set the world record for the most fake mustaches at a public event, as the club distributed 5,000 fake mustaches to fans in attendance in an effort to raise awareness for men’s cancers in San Antonio.

On the ice, the game featured a goaltending duel between Markstrom and Oklahoma City netminder Jason LaBarbera. The Barons goaltender, who has spent the last six seasons exclusively in the NHL, made 43-of-45 saves in the defeat in only his second start of the season for Oklahoma City.

San Antonio erased a deficit entering the third period for the fourth time in 10 games. The win marks the fourth-straight shootout victory for the Rampage after dropping their first shootout of the season against Abbotsford on Nov. 6.

The Rampage are now 4-2-0-0 against Oklahoma City this season, with two victories coming via the shootout. San Antonio has also won five of their last six games at AT&T Center.

Bobby Butler and Jon Matsumoto had the goals for the Rampage, while Jared Gomes had the lone goal of the shootout between both clubs. Defenseman Denny Urban chipped in as well, collecting two assists and recording 11 shots on goal, which is a season high for the club.

Jed Ortmeyer had the best scoring opportunity for the Rampage in the opening 20 minutes. The veteran forward snuck behind the Barons defense and walked in on LaBarbera with six minutes left in the period. However, the Barons netminder was able to turn the shot aside with his blocker.

Oklahoma City’s best chance in the opening frame came just as the period expired. The Barons won an offensive zone faceoff with less than three seconds remaining on the clock and were able to fire a one-timer that rang off the crossbar as the clock read zero.

After 20 minutes, the Rampage held a 14-8 edge in shots and picked up right where they left off in the second period. San Antonio outshot the Barons 10-0 to open the second period and at one point had a 24-8 shot advantage.

But the Barons struck first at 13:16 of the second period while on the power play. Barons captain Anton Lander received a great pass from Taylor Fedun and blasted a one-timer from the right faceoff circle that beat Markstrom blocker side.

The Rampage continued to pour it on LaBarbera, but the veteran goaltender kept the door shut through 40 minutes and stopped all 28 shots he faced. The Barons again closed out the frame with a great opportunity, as Roman Horak charged in on an odd-man rush, but was turned aside by Markstrom to keep it a one-goal game entering the third period.

Butler notched the game-tying goal at 7:29 of the third period. Jared Gomes carried the puck behind the net and played a perfect pass to the top of the crease. Butler was waiting and poked the puck past LaBarbera to put the Rampage on the board.

Only 2:48 later, San Antonio struck again with a power-play goal from Matsumoto. The Rampage forward tipped a point shot from Urban for his fourth goal of the season. With the goal, Matsumoto donated $20 to the “Matsumoto’s Rescues” program to help stray dogs in the San Antonio area.

Oklahoma City would not go down quietly, however, as Linus Omark capitalized on a Rampage turnover and ripped a sneaky shot past Markstrom with only 1:27 remaining, which effectively forced overtime.

Ortmeyer took a penalty 23 seconds into the overtime, but the Rampage penalty kill came up huge and held Oklahoma City off the board. Neither club was able to capitalize in the extra session and the two teams went to a shootout.

Gomes shot first and was the only player on either team to cash in during the shootout. Markstrom stopped all five Barons shooters, including an impressive glove save on Lander.

San Antonio won the shot battle on the night, 46-36, and have now outshot their opponent in 10 of the club’s last 13 games. The Rampage went 1-for-4 on the power play, while Oklahoma City was 1-for-6 with the man advantage.

The Rampage hit the road to wrap up the home-and-home weekend against the Barons tomorrow (Saturday) in Oklahoma City at 7:00 p.m. The Silver and Black will welcome the Iowa Wild, formerly the Houston Aeros, to the AT&T Center for the first time on Wednesday at 7:00 p.m.

Individual and season tickets can be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office, by calling a Rampage representative at 210-444-5554, or online at sarampage.com.



SACU Internal