FINAL
Sun. Dec 15
5 TEX
2 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Dec 18
2 SAN
4 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Dec 20
0 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sat. Dec 21
2 SAN
3 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Dec 27
2 TEX
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Dec 28
2 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 03
5 OKC
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 04
3 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Tue. Jan 07
1 ABB
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 11
3 ABB
2 SAN
FINAL
Mon. Jan 13
2 UTI
3 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Jan 16
4 MIL
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 18
3 ROC
2 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Jan 24
5 IOW
4 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Jan 25
2 IOW
1 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Jan 26
5 GRA
6 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Jan 29
4 SAN
2 TEX
FINAL
Fri. Jan 31
4 TOR
3 SAN
FINAL
Wed. Feb 05
4 SAN
5 TOR
FINAL
Fri. Feb 07
4 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Sat. Feb 08
3 SAN
1 LEM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 14
2 SAN
1 GRA
FINAL
Sat. Feb 15
3 SAN
0 GRA
FINAL
Mon. Feb 17
4 SAN
1 HAM
FINAL
Fri. Feb 21
3 SAN
2 ROC
FINAL
Sat. Feb 22
1 SAN
2 TOR
FINAL
Sun. Feb 23
1 SAN
3 HAM
FINAL
Wed. Feb 26
3 SAN
0 UTI
FINAL
Sat. Mar 01
2 TEX
0 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 02
5 SAN
6 OKC
FINAL
Fri. Mar 07
5 CHA
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 09
4 CHA
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Mar 11
2 SAN
5 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 13
1 GRA
2 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Mar 15
2 SAN
4 MIL
FINAL
Sun. Mar 16
1 SAN
2 IOW
FINAL
Fri. Mar 21
3 SAN
4 CHA
FINAL
Sun. Mar 23
4 SAN
2 CHA
FINAL
Tue. Mar 25
1 SAN
2 OKC
FINAL
Thu. Mar 27
4 TEX
5 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Mar 28
6 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Mar 30
4 HAM
3 SAN
FINAL
Tue. Apr 01
5 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 04
2 CHA
5 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Apr 05
0 LEM
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 11
0 SAN
5 TEX
FINAL
Sat. Apr 12
8 TEX
4 SAN
FINAL
Sun. Apr 13
0 TEX
1 SAN
FINAL
Thu. Apr 17
3 ABB
1 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Apr 18
3 ABB
0 SAN

Rampage Drop 5-2 Decision to Stars

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations

Box Score | Game Notes

CEDAR PARK, Texas (December 28, 2013) – The San Antonio Rampage (12-18-0-3) fell 5-2 tonight in Cedar Park to the Texas Stars (19-9-2-3) after allowing four unanswered goals in the waning minutes of the second period. The Stars saw three different players record three-point nights in the win.

Steve Pinizzotto scored first for the Rampage to tie the game at one, and Bobby Butler converted on a penalty shot to give the Rampage a 2-1 lead heading into the second period. Jacob Markstrom made 23-of-27 saves, and Michael Houser made 2-of-3 saves in a brief relief appearance. Texas outshot the Rampage, 30-24.

Texas drew first blood for the second night in a row, quickly putting the league’s best power play to work. Just five seconds into the man advantage, Travis Morin beat Markstrom from the right circle to put his team up, 1-0.

 

Morin’s 16th goal came at 6:26 of the first, and was assisted by Colton Sceviour and Curtis McKenzie.

 

The lead did not last, as just 26 seconds later, Pinizzotto netted his sixth of the season to knot the game up at one. Jed Ortmeyer and Joey Crabb provided the assists on the goal.

The two teams would trade penalties, but neither could cash in. It was Butler who found the net at 18:41 of the first, beating Nilstorp after being awarded a penalty shot.

 

Butler’s go-ahead goal was his 10th this season, and is just the fourth of its kind in Rampage history.

 

The Butler tally would stand, and the two teams headed to the room with the Rampage on top 2-1.
 

Texas’ best chance in the second came just past the midway point of the period. With both Quinton Howden and Butler in the box, the Stars were given 1:51 of a 5-on-3. But the Rampage’s PK turned in a glorious effort, denying every chance Texas tried to create.

Barely a shift after the kill, Brett Ritchie tied it up at two with 5:12 remaining in the second. Markstrom stopped the initial shot with his pad, but Ritchie stepped up to bang it home for his sixth of the year.

Texas didn’t let up, and scored three times within 2:10 to take a commanding 5-2 lead into the second intermission. Ranford netted the first, and then Sceviour scored two in less than a minute to finish out the period.

The third saw no scoring, but was a chippy affair all around as tensions and emotions ran high between the instate rivals.

 

San Antonio went 0-for-5 on the power play, while Texas cashed in three times, going 3-for-9.

The Rampage will be off until Jan. 3, when they head into another home-and-home, this time with the Oklahoma City Barons. Puck drop is at 7:30 p.m. on a KZEP / Bud Light Dollar Drink Night at the AT&T Center. Individual and season tickets can be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office, by calling a Rampage representative at 210-444-5554, or online at sarampage.com.



Mac D's



@ sarampage